Ely Air Cadets Annual Awards Evening

Saturday night saw 1094 (City of Ely) Squadron host their Annual Awards Evening.

The Deputy Lord Lieutenant for Cambridgeshire Colonel Roger Herriot OBE in addition to Ely’s Mayor Mike Rouse and Mr David Martin The Chair of The Ely Royal British Legion graciously accepted our invitation as Guests of Honour at the Squadron Annual Awards Evening.

As well as our Guests of Honour the Squadron was extremely pleased to welcome The Wing DofE Officer Flight Lieutenant Steve Johnson RAFAC , and the OC’s from two of our Sister Squadrons in The Eastern Sector of Bedfordshire and Cambridgeshire Wing, Warrant Officer Tim Barker RAFAC OC of Sawston Squadron and Flight Lieutenant Nathan Young RAFAC OC of Haverhill Squadron.

Attached are photos of the award presentations:

Male Cadet of the year 2018: Flight Sergeant Rory Donoghue

Female Cadet of the year 2018: Sergeant Abigail Stubbs

NCO of the year: Sergeant Luca Chadwick

Recruit of the year: Cadet Issy Murfitt

Lavenham Trophy for high achievement: Flight Sergeant Rory Donoghue

Fred Pizey Trophy for Citizenship: Cadet Grace Robinson

John Grant Trophy for determination and endeavour: Corporal Ethan Saggers

First Aid Trophy: Cadet Polly Nickless

Commanding Officers Plate and commendation for outstanding commitment: Corporal Charlie Minchin.

This year a new award was inaugurated by one of the Squadrons adult staff in memory of his Uncle; The Warrant Officer Daniel O’Donovan Trophy for Deportment (best turned out cadet of the year) which was awarded to one of last years new recruits Cadet James Munday.

Press release from 1094 City of Ely Squadron Royal Air Force Air Cadets

Photo credit to Mayor Mike Rouse

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on email